2014 FIFA Ballon d’Or Top 10 nominees announced

2014 FIFA Ballon d’Or Top 10 nominees announced

FIFA have released the Top 10 nominees for the 2014 Ballon d’Or.

Reigning Player of the Year Nadine Angerer, current European Player of the Year Nadine Keßler and current AFC Player of the Year Aya Miyama are among the leading contenders for the Player of the Year.

On the coaching side German FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup winning coach Maren Meinert, Wolfsburg’s Ralf Kellermann, Japan’s Asian Cup winning coach Norio Sasaki and Seattle Reign coach Laura Harvey are among the contenders for Coach of the Year.

The nominees have been chosen by FIFA’s Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup and a group of experts from France Football.

This list will be reduced to three players and announced on 1 December 2014.

From the shortlist, journalists, national coaches and captains will vote to se who will succeed German captain and goalkeeper Nadine Angerer as the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year.

The winners of all of the awards will be revealed at the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala in Zurich on 12 January 2015.

Player of the Year Nominees

Nadine Angerer (Germany), Verónica Boquete (Spain), Nilla Fischer (Sweden), Nahomi Kawasumi (Japan), Nadine Kessler (Germany), Aya Miyama (Japan), Louisa Necib (France), Lotta Schelin (Sweden), Marta (Brazil), Abby Wambach (USA)

Coach of the Year Nominees

Philippe Bergeroo (France/France national team), Peter Dedevbo (Nigeria/Nigeria U-20 national team), Laura Harvey (England/Seattle Reign FC), Ralf Kellermann (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg), Maren Meinert (Germany/Germany U-20 national team), Norio Sasaki (Japan/Japan national team), Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Sweden national team), Asako Takemoto Takakura (Japan/Japan U-17 national team), Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spain U-17 national team and U-19 national team), Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Switzerland national team).