Brisbane Roar finalises W League squad

Wilson finalises Roar squad

Written by 

The most successful team in the W-League, the Brisbane Roar have finalised their 20 player squad for the fifth season of the W-League kicking off this weekend.  

New coach Belinda Wilson has stuck with a winning formulae and has retained the core of the squad from the past four seasons including captain Clare Polkinghorne and new vice captain Elise Kellond-Knight. 

“I’m over the moon to finally have the squad finalised,” Wilson said. 

“Now that it’s organised, I’m looking forward to concentrating on the football and our own performances.”

Matildas Tameka Butt, Emily Gielnik, Laura Alleway, Brooke Spence and the returning Elise Kellond-Knight form the foundations of the Queensland squad. Japanese goalkeeper Hoshimi Kishi returns for her second season as a probable No.1 with the season long osteitis pubis injury ruling out championship winning ‘keeper Casey Dumont. Queensland products Erika Elize (Perth Glory) and Katrina Gorry (Melbourne Victory) have been lured back home. 

Several new faces have been rewarded for strong seasons in the local Brisbane Premier League including The Gap striker Emma Pittman and Redlands United trio defender Georgia Chapman, goalkeeper Joanne Buckley and utility player Sachiko Tatsuoka.

“We went to the local Diamond League and we found some great players, including Sachiko,” she said.

“She’s a very highly technical Japanese player who played in the Nadeshiko League in Japan, the top level over there.”

While English striker Hannah Beard adds international flavour to a strongly Queensland squad. 

“Hannah’s been playing more recently over in America in the college system,” she said. “She’s an exciting player – an out-and-out striker who brings speed and has an eye for goal.”

Brisbane Roar meet Canberra United this Saturday, 20 October at McKellar Park in the grand final re-match.

Brisbane Roar Westfield W-League 2012/13 squad

1. Hoshimi KISHI (gk), 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 3. Amy CHAPMAN, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE, 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Ashley SPINA, 7. Erika ELZE, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Emma PITTMAN, 10. Lana HARCH, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 12. Rebecca PRICE, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Georgia CHAPMAN, 15. Hannah BEARD, 16. Sachiko TATSUOKA, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 19. Katrina GORRY, 20. Kate STEWART (gk), 30. Joanne BUCKLEY (gk)