DeVanna and Kerr Cap off stellar seasons with FFA awards

Lisa De Vanna in action during her Glory days. Photo: Getty Images

De Vanna and Kerr claim top prizes

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Perth-born striker Lisa De Vanna has been named Female Footballer of the Year at the fifth annual Australian Football Awards held at the Sydney Convention Centre last night.

And in more good news for WA football, Sam Kerr was named Professional Footballers Australia women’s player of the year after starring for Grand Final winners Sydney last season.

De Vanna, who had two spells in the Westfield W-League for Perth Glory but currently plays for Melbourne Victory, has become a key figure in Australia’s national women’s team since making her debut in 2004.

She had a stellar season in the United States recently where she played for Sky Blue FC, scoring a memorable bicycle kick against Boston Breakers which became a YouTube sensation.

That global attention was given a boost this week when the stunning strike was nominated as a contender for FIFA’s goal of the year.

It is one of only 10 goals selected by FIFA with a public vote to determine the winner, which will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d’Or on January 13 next year.

But it was De Vanna’s all-round on-field contribution this year, which earned her the top individual prize in Australian women’s football.

Socceroos and Crystal Palace midfielder Mile Jedinak was named Male Football of the Year, while

Newcastle Jets midfielder Josh Brillante took out Male U20 Footballer of the Year and the Female U20 Footballer of the Year went to Westfield Matilda Stephanie Catley for the second year in a row.