Dynamos Win the Metro Cup

SWSA Ladies Powerhouse Dynamos travelled to Perth on Sunday to compete in the Perth Metro Cup Final. Having already beaten 5 teams along the way, including Division One outfits, Port Kennedy, North Beach and Hamersley, they were in for a tougher test this time round. Facing Metro Division One Champions Fremantle United. The undefeated Fremantle sit pretty at the top of their respective ladder, and the two teams wanted to take out this prestigious award.

The first half was a hard fought battle with both teams pressing forward eager to get the lead early. With very inclement weather it was Fremantle that had use of a gale blowing advantage. Both keepers were tested but managed to keep the opposition from scoring which resulted in a 0-0 score by the half time whistle.

In the second half both Dynamos and Fremantle kept their momentum from the first half, but Dynamos strong defence and fierce keeper Amy Szeliga kept any shots Fremantle offered at bay.

The strong wind played an advantage for Dynamos in the second half with chances created by Hannah Newton, Michelle Lauren and Rachel Thomson but the Fremantle keeper managed to tap them over the bar. Within 30 minutes into the second half, Dynamos were able to take the lead when the Fremantle keeper rolled a dangerous ball out which Rachel Thomson pounced on and calmly placed in the bottom left corner.

Fremantle continued to press for an equaliser but their momentum seemed to slow as the game entered the late stages. Yet again the midfield and defensive structure from Dynamos managed their pressure and the majority of play was in Fremantle’s defensive half.

A pacey run from Kim Cleggett down the wing with the assistance of Tash Hagenaar saw Cleggett place a powerful shot to the left of Fremantle’s keeper to put Dynamos in a comfortable 2-0 lead. Fremantle continued to tire and Dynamos held their ground to wait out the final whistle. Both teams fought hard but Dynamos came out on top with a 2-0 win and a shining cup for the South West, the first ever won by a Ladies team from the region.