FIFA awards 2012

Abby Wambach wins the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2012!

Abby Wambach was presented her award by team mate Hope Solo and President Sepp Blatter.

Abby Wambach is a striker for the USWNT, and is currently just six goals behind the US record of 158 international goals, currently held by Mia Hamm. Wambach has reached the final of the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year three times.

In 2012, Abby enjoyed a successful Olympic campaign winning Gold with USA, her second gold medal of her career.

The other nominees…

It’s been a huge year for the young USA international striker Alex Morgan. In 2012 Alex became the youngest player to score 20 international goals in a calender year. In total Morgan scored 28 goals and had 21 assists in 2012. Morgan celebrated winning the gold medal at the London 2012 Olympics with USA. Alex Morgan was recognized as USA’s 2012 Player of the Year.

The Brazilian striker Marta is no stranger to the FIFA Ballon d’Or awards, having won the FIFA World Player of the Year title for a record five consecutive years between 2006 and 2010. Marta was part of the Brazilian Women’s national team that reached the London 2012 quarter-finals. At club level Marta helped her team Tyresö FF win the Swedish Damallsvenskan league.