Glory quartet in World Cup mix

Marianna Tabain takes on Canberra’s Ashleigh Sykes. Photo: Getty Images.

Monday, January 05, 2015

Four Perth Glory Women players will kick-off 2015 by taking part in a Westfield Matildas training camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra from January 12 to 15.

Football West News

While defender Alanna Kennedy, striker Kate Gill and midfielder Caitlin Foord are no strangers to the international scene, Marianna Tabain will be looking to make the most of her first opportunity to impress coach Alen Stajcic.

The training camp for the 32-player squad is the first in an important year for the Westfield Matildas, who will play in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada from June 6 to July 5.

WA striker Lisa De Vanna, who played for Melbourne Victory in the recent Westfield W-League, is also in the squad, , while Glory’s Samantha Kerr has been prevented from taking part in the camp due to injury.

Stajcic is in the process of confirming the details of the Westfield Matildas preparation program for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup and is excited to start off the New Year with an intense training camp.

“I’ve had a good look at all the players throughout the Westfield W-League season and I am happy with the group of players that I have selected for this camp,” Stajcic said.

“There is a balance of youth and experience in the squad and it will be a good starting point for our intense preparation period.”

“This is by no means a final squad as there are number of players returning from injury that are still in contention for selection.

“It’s now up to the players to make the step up and show the coaching staff why they deserve to go to the World Cup,” concluded Stajcic.

The Westfield Matildas have been drawn in Group D of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 alongside USA, Sweden and Nigeria.

Squad: Teigen Allen (Sydney); Laura Alleway (Brisbane Roar); Melissa Barberi (Adelaide United); Nicola Bolger (Sydney); Danielle Brogan (Adelaide United); Ellie Brush (Canberra United); Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar); Kim Carroll (Brisbane Roar); Steph Catley (Melbourne Victory); Emma Checker (Melbourne Victory); Alex Chidiac (Adelaide United); Hayley Crawford (Newcastle Jets); Larissa Crummer (Brisbane Roar); Brianna Davey (Melbourne Victory);  Lisa De Vanna (Melbourne Victory); Casey Dumont (Sydney); Caitlin Foord (Perth Glory); Kate Gill (Perth Glory); Katrina Gorry (Brisbane Roar); Amy Harrison (Sydney); Michelle Heyman (Canberra United); Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane Roar); Alanna Kennedy (Perth Glory); Teresa Polias (Sydney); Clare Polkinghore (Brisbane Roar); Hayley Raso (Brisbane Roar); Gema Simon (Melbourne Victory); Kyah Simon (Sydney); Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United); Marianna Tabain (Perth Glory); Emily van-Egmond (Newcastle Jets); Servet Uzunlar (Sydney).