Glory set for first Grand Final: Perth Glory Women Release

DECEMBER 19, 2014

Assistant coach Tanya Oxtoby will urge Perth Glory Women players to make the most of the club’s historic first Westfield W-League Grand Final appearance when they take on Canberra United at nib Stadium on Sunday.

Oxtoby experienced some lean times as a Glory player having spent the first four W-League seasons with the club before heading overseas to pursue her coaching career.

Her return as an assistant to Jamie Harnwell has coincided with the club’s most successful period, Glory having been transformed from easy beats to the competition benchmark.

“I’m just really excited for the players because when I was playing I would’ve given absolutely everything to have experienced a Grand Final,” Oxtoby said.

“It’s been a great season and hopefully we can keep the squad together and progress again next year but the girls will approach this game like it’s their last.

“We really don’t know when we’re going to get a home Grand Final in Perth again, so they’ll be going out there to give everything they’ve got.

“Without disrespecting the other clubs, I think the two best teams have reached the Grand Final and it’s going to be a cracker.”

The match will be the last for Glory midfielder Elisa D’Ovidio, who will hang up her boots having played in all seven seasons for the club.

“It feels surreal to be in the Grand Final in my last game and it would be a dream to win it,” D’Ovidio said. “We’ve got a strong squad and we’ll have to make sure we’re all switched on and we don’t make mistakes.”

D’Ovidio replaced the injured Samantha Kerr in the starting line-up for last weekend’s semi-final win over Sydney FC and marked her appearance with a goal.

She is expected to start again against Canberra, who beat Glory 2-1 in the final regular game of the season.


Perth Glory coach Jamie Harnwell and captain Collette McCallum will be available for interview tomorrow (Saturday, December 20). Canberra coach Elisabeth Migchelsen and captain Nicole Begg will also attend.

What: Grand Final interview

Where: nib Stadium (entry via Gate 2)

When: Saturday, December 20

Time: 12.15pm

There will be a photo opportunity with the captains, coaches and Westfield W-League trophy immediately after interview opportunity.


Westfield W-League Grand Final
Perth Glory v Canberra United
Sunday 21 December 2014
nib Stadium, Perth

Local kick-off: 12 midday (3pm AEDT)
(Gates open: 11am)
Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #PERvCBR #WLeagueGF

* Catch all the action Live at 3.00pm nationally (midday WA time) on ABC TV. Or from Monday on ABC iView with a full replay at 3.30am on Tuesday.

Perth Glory squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 2. Sarah Carroll, 3. Carys Hawkins, 4. Bronwyn Studman, 5. Shannon May, 6. Alanna Kennedy, 7. Gabrielle Marzano, 8. Shawn Billam, 9. Caitlin Foord, 12. Kate Gill, 13. Elisa D’Ovidio, 14. Collette McCallum, 15. Shelina Zadorsky, 16. Thia Eastman, 17. Marianna Tabain, 18. Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)
Ins: None
Outs: None
Unavailable: Sam Kerr (knee – season)

Canberra United squad: 1. Chantel Jones, 2. Catherine Brown, 3. Julia De Angelis, 5. Grace Field, 6. Caitlin Munoz, 7. Ellie Brush, 9. Grace Gill, 10. Grace Maher, 11. Michelle Heyman, 12. Sally Rojahn, 13. Nicole Begg, 14. Ashleigh Sykes, 15. Tegan Riding, 16. Lori Lindsey, 20. Melissa Maizels (gk), 22. Stephanie Ochs
Ins: Grace Maher (promoted)
Outs: Kendall Fletcher (end of contract)
Unavailable: Meg McLaughlin (knee – season)

Football West