Heartache for Glory players eased with selection in Matildas squad

Stajcic names Matildas squad for January training camp

Stajcic has named a 32-player squad for a January training camp.

Monday, 22 December 2014

Staff writer
Westfield Matildas Head Coach Alen Stajcic today named a 32-player squad for a training camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra which will be held next year from 12 – 15 January.

The training camp will be the first in a very important year for the Westfield Matildas that will feature the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup which will be held in Canada from 6 June to 5 July.

This will be the first opportunity for the players to impress Stajcic following the completion of the recent Westfield W-League season.

Stajcic is in the process of confirming the details of the Westfield Matildas preparation program for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup and is excited to start off the new year with an intense training camp.

“I’ve had a good look at all the players throughout the Westfield W-League season and I am happy with the group of players that I have selected for this camp,” said Stajcic.

“There is a balance of youth and experience in the squad and it will be a good starting point for our intense preparation period.”

“This is by no means a final squad as there are number of players returning from injury that are still in contention for selection.

“It’s now up to the players to make the step up and show the coaching staff why they deserve to go to the World Cup,” concluded Stajcic.

The Westfield Matildas have been drawn in Group D of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 alongside USA, Sweden and Nigeria.

Westfield Matildas Squad – AIS Training camp – 12 to 15 January 2015



Teigen Allen Sydney FC
Laura Alleway Brisbane Roar FC
Melissa Barberi (gk) Adelaide United
Nicola Bolger Sydney FC
Danielle Brogan Adelaide United
Ellie Brush Canberra United
Tameka Butt Brisbane Roar FC
Kim Carroll Brisbane Roar FC
Steph Catley Melbourne Victory
Emma Checker Melbourne Victory
Alex Chidiac Adelaide United
Hayley Crawford Newcastle Jets
Larissa Crummer Brisbane Roar FC
Brianna Davey (gk) Melbourne Victory
Lisa De Vanna Melbourne Victory
Casey Dumont (gk) Sydney FC
Caitlin Foord Perth Glory
Kate Gill Perth Glory
Katrina Gorry Brisbane Roar FC
Amy Harrison Sydney FC
Michelle Heyman Canberra United
Elise Kellond-Knight Brisbane Roar FC
Alanna Kennedy Perth Glory
Teresa Polias Sydney FC
Clare Polkinghore Brisbane Roar FC
Hayley Raso Brisbane Roar FC
Gema Simon Melbourne Victory
Kyah Simon Sydney FC
Ashleigh Sykes Canberra United
Marianna Tabain Perth Glory
Emily van-Egmond Newcastle Jets
Servet Uzunlar Sydney FC

As at Monday 22 December 2014

Reference http://www.matildas.footballaustralia.com.au/article/stajcic-names-matildas-squad-for-january-training-camp/1jgytgqu6lz9q15m0m8i8noxnd#5w1B54zJ3hUHbxzr.99