Matildas games being broadcast

SBS to televise every match of the Women’s World Cup live

SBS to televise every match of the Women’s World Cup live

With 26 days to go, SBS has announced that they will be broadcasting every match of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup live.

This will see all 52 matches available live on SBS ONE, SBS HD and online, with the only exceptions on air being the concurrent group stage matches, which will be streamed live online at

“The World Cup is ingrained in SBS’s DNA and we’re thrilled to be able to showcase the best of international women’s football to Australian audiences,” said Ken Shipp, SBS’s Director of Sport.

“This year we are showing 41 matches live on air, with all 52 matches available live online, a first in Australian TV history.”

“The Matildas are a very strong team with a long history of success. In their previous two World Cup campaigns they qualified to the quarterfinals stage – so we’re really looking forward to sharing their 2015 journey with the whole of Australia.”

SBS will also provide full coverage of the Matildas campaign with all matches live with a pre-show hosted by Lucy Zelic and a panel of special guests including former Matildas. While in Canada, SBS reporter Vitor Sobral will be on hand.

A daily highlights show will be broadcast on 5:35pm* with match highlights and analysis as well as interviews, features and the latest football news.

The Women’s World Cup will kick off with the opening match between host nation, Canada and China on Sunday 7 June at 7.30am AEST LIVE on SBS ONE with the final on Monday 6 July from 8.30am AEST.

Australia’s campaign commences on Tuesday, 9 June. The 23 player squad is due to be announced tomorrow at 11am (AET).

Unite to support the Matildas starting with our Matildas Women’s World Cup wallpaper!

Produced by highly regarded graphic designer and illustrator Michael Alesich

(1920 x 1200)

(1440 x 2560)
Go to for links

SBS Main Matches Schedule (AEST):
  • United States v Australia: Tuesday 9 June, SBS ONE 9am
  • Australia v Nigeria: Saturday 13 June, SBS ONE, 6.30am
  • Australia v Sweden: Wednesday 17 June. SBS ONE 9.30am
  • Semi-final 1: Wednesday 1 July, SBS ONE, 8.30am
  • Semi-final 2: Thursday 2 July, SBS ONE, 8.30am
  • Final, Monday 6 July, SBS ONE, 8.30am