Matildas Squad selected for Cyprus Cup

Stajcic names Matildas squad for 2015 Cyprus Cup

Stajcic names Matildas squad for 2015 Cyprus Cup

Australian head coach Alen Stajcic has named a 22 player squad for the 2015 Cyprus Cup held in Cyprus from 2 – 11 March 2015.

The squad consists of 17 of the 23 players who made the trip across the Tasman for the tri-nations series with hosts New Zealand and DPR Korea.

Meanwhile Laura Alleway, Kate Gill, Collette McCallum and Gema Simon have been added after overcoming injuries.

“This tour gives us a great opportunity to catch up to the rest of the pack in the world by spending an extended period of time together and playing a number of quality international matches that will be invaluable as we continue to work on our structure and the way we want to play when we get to Canada,” Stajcic said.

“Certainly the majority of the positions are still up in the air so we’ve got a good six week tour in front of us and we’re confident we’ll know most of the squad for the World Cup by the end of it. In saying that, the door is certainly open to others who aren’t in this squad making it on the plane to Canada.”

While many of the faces have been national team regulars in the past 2 years, one ‘new’ face is goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold who joins the squad after a strong W-League season with Perth Glory and a good training camp.

Noticeable absentees and World Cup aspirants from the squad include Sam Kerr (knee), Lydia Williams (knee). While goalkeeper Casey Dumont is out of contention after undergoing a knee reconstruction late last week.

This will be Australia’s second appearance at the Cyprus Cup and the Matildas will meet tournament organisers England and the Netherlands with Finland rounding off Group B.

The winners of Group A and Group B will playoff in the Cyprus Cup Final with other nations facing off in placement matches.


At the conclusion of the Cyprus Cup, the Matildas will stay on in Europe for another three weeks at the Australian Institute of Sport European campus.

At that stage several players, including Kerr, Williams and Tameka Butt, will join the squad while a number will return to Australia.

Australian squad for Cyprus Cup



A International Caps (Goals)

Laura Alleway Brisbane Roar

26 (0)

Mackenzie Arnold (gk) Perth Glory

2 (0)

Nicola Bolger Sydney FC

3 (0)

Steph Catley Melbourne Victory

26 (1)

Larissa Crummer Brisbane Roar

1 (0)

Brianna Davey (gk) Melbourne Victory

15 (0)

Lisa De Vanna Melbourne Victory

92 (32)

Caitlin Foord Perth Glory

24 (3)

Kate Gill Perth Glory

83 (40)

Katrina Gorry Brisbane Roar

24 (8)

Michelle Heyman Canberra United

27 (10)

Elise Kellond-Knight Brisbane Roar

49 (1)

Alanna Kennedy Perth Glory

22 (0)

Collette McCallum Perth Glory

78 (11)

Teresa Polias Sydney FC

4 (0)

Clare Polkinghorne Brisbane Roar

75 (4)

Hayley Raso Brisbane Roar

8 (1)

Gema Simon Melbourne Victory

1 (0)

Kyah Simon Sydney FC

43 (10)

Ashleigh Sykes Canberra United

7 (2)

Servet Uzunlar Sydney FC

40 (2)

Emily van-Egmond Newcastle Jets

33 (8)

Cyprus Cup Fixtures

Netherlands v Australia
4 March 2015
GSZ Larnaca
Kick off: 17:30 local (2.30am AEDT)

Australia v England
6 March 2015
GSP Nicosia
Kick off: 17:30 local (2.30am AEDT)

Australia v Finland
9 March 2015
GSZ Larnaca
Kick off: 17:30 local (2.30am AEDT)