Matildas stars Caitlin Foord and Lisa de Vanna nominated for Asian Player of the Year

Caitlin Foord celebrates a goal against Germany

Caitlin Foord was the youngest ever player for the Matildas.

Reuters: Paulo Whitaker

Matildas players Caitlin Foord and Lisa de Vanna have been nominated for the prestigious Asian Player of the Year award.

Two of the three nominees were Australian, with China’s Tan Ruyin the other player named by the Asian Football Confederation.

The male contenders are the UAE’s Omar Abdulrahman, Hammadi Ahmed Aldeeaa of Iraq and Wu Lei of China.

The winner of each award will be announced at a gala event in Abu Dhabi on December 1.

Veteran forward De Vanna has long been the talisman of the Matildas side, having accumulated 117 caps and 40 goals.

Foord made her debut for Australia at the tender age of 16 back in 2011 and now has 50 caps.

Both players were key to the Matildas topping the Asian qualifying tournament for the Rio Olympics and the side’s subsequent run to the quarter-finals at the Games.

Tan Ruyin has 39 caps for China and caused a splash in Rio with a 35-metre goal against South Africa.

Katrina Gorry was the last Australian to win the award, in 2014.