National Youth Championships and WA State Girls Teams 2011


Football West News

Football West’s two State Girls squads have performed incredibly well at FFA’s National Youth Championships in Coffs Harbour, New South Wales.

Both WA’s Under 14 and Under 15 teams played four matches each in their respective groups and starred by remaining undefeated in three of them.

Another highlight for Jessine Bonzas’ Under 14 Girls was a 2-0 non-points victory against Group A heavyweights Northern NSW.

Maddison Schofield, Emily Henderson, Amy Le Roux and Emma Leaning combined for an impressive 12 goals between them.

Henderson was rewarded for another standout tournament with her All Stars selection in the Under 14’s team.

The youngster was also recognised at last year’s Under 13’s Championships and even received a National call-up in 2010.

Overall, the Under 14’s finished their group in second place, behind the undefeated Queensland.

Tanya Oxtoby’s Under 15 team was also at the forefront of their group, with two wins, a draw and just one loss in their tournament.

Leigha Bullock was the team’s top goal scorer with three, while Tia Stonehill, Caitlin Doeglas, Mackenzie Bell and Laitysha Wyatt chimed in with doubles.

The Under 15 finished side finished their group in third place and had two players identified, with Jessica Darmago and Doeglas selected for the All Stars.

Football West Game Development Manager Andrew Bettell says the performances of the teams have been nothing short of outstanding.

“It’s a real credit to Jessine (Bonzas), Tanya (Oxtoby) all the coaching staff and these future Matildas,” he said.

“They’ve been training for several months now and the hard work has paid off with some impressive results at the Championships.

“From all reports, the girls that made the All Star squads have thoroughly deserved their selections and we look forward to seeing their development in years to come.

“On behalf of Football West I’d like to congratulate everyone on a job well done, they have done their State proud.”

18-year-old Jennifer Wood (Meadow Springs) and Dawesville’s Opal Wright (17) also represented WA by refereeing at the Championships.

Feedback from the Championships is that the WA duo performed extremely well and enjoyed the experience.

WA Under 14 Girls Squad





Gabrielle Dal Busco Tuart Hill NTC
Monique Godding Currambine NTC
Danni Griffiths Woodvale Melville
Courtney Hall Redcliffe Bayswater
Emily Henderson Stoneville NTC/Perth Hills United
Sarah Kenny Alfred Cove Melville
Pippa King Jindalee NTC/Joondalup City
Amy Le Roux Coogee Fremantle
Emma Leaning Mt Helena NTC/Perth Hills United
Mikayla Lyons Melville East Fremantle
Steffi Nadilo Spearwood Cockburn City
Bonnie Rostron Shoalwater Melville
Tiahna Scandrett Glen Forrest NTC/Swan United
Maddison Schofield Kingsley Kingsway
Hope Shepherd Heathridge Joondalup City FC
Angelique Stannett Gosnells Sutherlands Park

Coach: Jessine Bonzas

Assistant Coaches: Shannon May and Marianna Tabain

Team Manager: Lisa Tana

WA Under 14 Girls Fixtures (Please note times are AWST)

Monday 11 July

10.30am: Football West 7 (Maddison Schofield 3, Amy Le Roux 2, Emma Leaning 1, Tiahna Scandrett 1) v Northern Territory 0

Tuesday 12 July

8.45am: Football West 1 (Emily Henderson 7′) v NSW Country 0

Wednesday 13 July

2.00pm: (Not for points) Football West 2 (Maddison Schofield 5′, Mikayla Lyons 67′) v Northern NSW 0

Thursday 14 July

8.45am: Tasmania 0 v Football West 4 (Emily Henderson 7′ 10′, Maddison Schofield 29′, Emma Leaning 34′)

Friday 15 July

9.30am: Queensland 4 (Ruby Palu 4′, Sunny Franco 8′ 26′, Ayesha Norrie 80′) v Football West 0

WA All Stars Selections: Emily Henderson

WA Goal Scorers: Maddison Schofield 5,Emily Henderson 3, Amy Le Roux 2, Emma Leaning 2, Mikayla Lyons 1, Tiahna Scandrett 1

WA Under 15 Girls Squad





Mackenzie Bell Sorrento NTC
Lauren Blackledge Kardinya NTC/East Fremantle
Caitlyn Broomhead Collie Collie JSA
Leigha Bullock Thornlie NTC
Kimberley Cleggett Collie Dynamos
Hope Compton Mindarie NTC
Zoe Covell Applecross NTC/East Fremantle
Jessica Darmago Waterford NTC
Caitlin Doeglas Ballajura Stirling Lions
Leniana Masibaka Orelia NTC
Natika Millar Parmelia NTC/Kwinana United
Emma Neville Palmyra East Fremantle
Sophia Stewart Wanneroo NTC/Woodvale
Tia Stonehill Success NTC/East Fremantle
Laura Waltman Gidgegannup Melville City SC
Laitysha Wyatt Jindalee Stirling Panthers

Coach: Tanya Oxtoby

Assistant Coach: Elisa D’Ovidio

Team Manager: Leanne Hill

WA Under 15 Girls Fixtures (Please note times are AWST)

Monday 11 July

8.45am: Football West 3 (Emma Neville 4′, Hope Compton 41′, Laitysha Wyatt 68′) v Tasmania 2 (Stacie Hutchinson 43′ 51′)

Tuesday 12 July

12.15pm: Football West 1 (Caitlin Doeglas 48′) v Victoria 2 (Emma Hubbard 24′ 67′)

Wednesday 13 July

8.45am: Northern Territory 1 (Bonny Scott 16′) v Football West 8 (Leigha Bullock 18′ 78′, Tia Stonehill 26′, Laitysha Wyatt 27′, OG 43′, Mackenzie Bell 45′ 55′, Caitlin Doeglas 76′)

Thursday 14 July

2.00pm: (Not for points) Football West 2 (Tia Stonehill 47′, Natika Millar 69′) v NSW Metro 4 (Alex Smith 6′, Clare Woods 15′, Joanna Martino 48′, Harley Johnston 66′)

Friday 15 July

7.45am: Capital Football 1 (Natalie De Marco 15′) v Football West 1 Leigha Bullock 8′)

WA All Stars Selections: Jessica Darmago, Caitlin Doeglas

WA Goal Scorers: Leigha Bullock 3, Tia Stonehill 2, Caitlin Doeglas 2, Laitysha Wyatt 2, Mackenzie Bell 2, Emma Neville 1, Hope Compton 1, Natika Millar 1