Perth Glory Awards

(L-R) Coach Jamie Harnwell, MGP Collette McCallum and Football West Chairman Liam Twigger. Photo: Helena Dornan

Injury-hit McCallum claims MGP

Friday, February 14, 2014

Perth Glory captain Collette McCallum has won the 2013/14 Most Glorious Player award, despite playing just five Westfield W-League games this season.

The Matildas star claimed the honour at a function this week and Shannon May was runner-up.

McCallum was struck down with cartilage wear and meniscus tear in her knee in mid-December but was still able to poll the most votes after a strong start to the campaign.

Coach Jamie Harnwell praised his captain’s influence on the team.

“It really shows just how much of an impact Collette has on games, given that she missed the second half of the season,” he said.

“She was in fantastic form from the first match and as a captain led the team well.

“It’s no coincidence that we struggled after she was ruled out through injury.”

May was rewarded for her hard work by being named the Player’s Player of the Year.

“Shannon was fantastic in the second part of the season,” Harnwell said.

“She was asked to fill an unfamiliar role as a fullback and played like she had been there all her life.

“I believe this award always has special significance and Shannon can be delighted to have the respect and admiration of her peers, who voted her the winner.”

The Coach’s Award went to Danish import Cecilie Sandvej, who starred in her debut W-League season and did everything her coach asked of her.

“She made a total commitment to Perth Glory since signing for us and her professionalism on and off the park is a great example to other players,” Harnwell said.

“Her winning mentality really drove us on in a lot of games. She also filled a number of positions, all of them with distinction.”

Matildas co-captain Kate Gill won her fourth Glory Golden Boot after scoring seven goals in eight appearances and breakthrough midfielder Shawn Billam was named Best Trainer.