Perth Glory v Western Sydney Wanderers
2 NOVEMBER, 2012


Perth Glory women’s team is gearing up for its first away trip of the Westfield W-League season when the undefeated WA team takes on new club Western Sydney Wanderers at Campbelltown Stadium tomorrow.

After making it two consecutive wins last weekend thanks to a late Elisa D’Ovidio goal in the 2-1 vi

ctory over Adelaide United, in the Glory’s way to three in a row stands the unknown Wanderers side.

Perth Glory captain Collette McCallum says her team is eager to keep its perfect record intact with another victory against Western Sydney.

“We got back into training on Tuesday, all the girls were happy with the win against Adelaide and now everyone is just psyched up for this,” said McCallum.

“They (Western Sydney Wanderers) have got a few young ones from the Young Matildas, but you’ve got the likes of Sarah Walsh who’s definitely going to be a threat up front as well as Servet (Uzunlar).

“Servet’s a good player at the back and you’ve got Teigen Allen who’s very strong in the middle, so those players will be a bit dangerous for us, but I think we’ve got the quality to hold them off.”

McCallum knows Walsh, Uzunlar and Allen from the Westfield Matildas set-up, and the national vice-caption also took the opportunity to praise Matildas coach Tom Sermanni, who announced his resignation earlier this week to take up a post with the world number one United States women’s national team.

“Well I’ve been in the team for eight years with him (Sermanni) when he first started, so it is quite sad that he’s leaving, but that’s football and things like that happen,” said McCallum.

“I’m very thankful for what he’s done for my career, but I hope he does well for the US team and I will really be looking forward to when we play against them and hopefully get a result out of it.”

Kick-off against Western Sydney Wanderers will be at 2.00pm local time (11.00am Perth time).

Western Sydney Wanderers v Perth Glory
Saturday 3 November, 2012
Campbelltown Stadium
Kick-off: 2.00pm local time (11.00am Perth time)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Carly TELFORD (gk), 2. Sarah CARROLL, 3. Carys HAWKINS, 4. Bronwyn STUDMAN, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Sasha ANDREWS, 8. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 9. Rosie SUTTON, 10. Jaymee GIBBONS, 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D’OVIDIO, 14. Collette MCCALLUM (c), 15. Liz MILNE, 16. Thia EASTMAN, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 19. Shawn BILLAM, 20. Zoe PALANDRI (gk)

(Two to be omitted)

Ins: 10. Jaymee GIBBONS (promoted), 16. Thia EASTMAN (promoted).

Outs: None.

Unavailable: 7. Aivi LUIK – Hamstring – 1 week, 18. Kirri BOLTON – Hip – 1 week.