Preview: Perth Glory v Adelaide United

Collette McCallum of the Glory and Tiarn Powell of Adelaide contest for the ball.

Friday, 26 September 2014


A fascinating contest is in prospect for fans in the west as Ross Aloisi’s tough-tackling Adelaide United visit town.

Perth Glory v Adelaide United

Saturday 27 September 2014

Ashfield Sports Club, Perth

Local kick-off: 3pm (5pm AET)

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #PERvADL

Following a modest season last campaign, the Glory have raced out of the blocks and boast an equal grasp of top spot alongside Canberra United and Sydney FC.

Their newly-strengthened roster is the envy of many and the likes of Sam Kerr and Alanna Kennedy seem to have slotted in seamlessly alongside the class of Collette McCallum and Kate Gill.

A positive start to the season is one thing, but Jamie Harnwell’s charges will now be looking to build momentum. With that in mind they will surely be desperate for all three points of home turf.

Adelaide though have continued their resilient displays of last year. A team forged in the mould of Aloisi boast a high work-rate and level of camaraderie.

Though suffering two defeats, Adelaide have conceded just three goals and boast a tough defensive unit, with evergreen Westfield Matildas goalkeeper Melissa Barbieri leading by example.

History will certainly be on the Glory side with just one loss suffered against Adelaide across their ten meetings and a perfect record in Perth.

Perth Glory squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 2. Sarah Carroll, 4. Bronwyn Studman, 5. Shannon May, 6. Alanna Kennedy, 7. Gabrielle Marzano, 8. Shawn Billam, 9. Caitlin Foord, 12. Kate Gill, 13. Elisa D’Ovidio, 14. Collette McCallum (C), 15. Shelina Zadorsky, 16. Thia Eastman, 17. Marianna Tabain, 18. Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), 20. Sam Kerr

Ins: Shannon May (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable: none

Adelaide United squad: 1. Melissa Barbieri (gk), 4. Lauren Steer, 6. Dylan Holmes, 7. Katrine Pedersen, 8. Emily Condon, 9. Lisa-Marie Woods, 10. Alexandra Chidiac, 11. Isabel Hodgson, 12.Daila-Tais Borg, 15. Jenna McCormick, 16. Katie Holtham, 17. Tiarn Powell, 18. Georgia Campagnale, 20. Sarah Willacy (gk), 23. Kristy Moore (C)

Ins: Daila-Tais Borg, Georgia Campagnale (both promoted)

Outs: Jessie Wharepouri, Rachel Alonso (both omitted)

Unavailable: none