WA football enters new era- a significant clean up for WA football

Starting with the competition review for the men’s side of the game….

Football West News

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

History will be made next season when 12 clubs aiming to represent the State on the national stage will compete in WA’s new National Premier Leagues competition.

Football West today gave provisional approval for NPL inclusion next season to Perth Glory, Armadale, Balcatta, Bayswater City, Cockburn City, ECU Joondalup, Floreat Athena, Inglewood United, Perth, Sorrento, Stirling Lions and Subiaco.

WA’s inaugural NPL first team winner will play-off against top clubs from other States in a knock-out format to determine the Australian NPL champion club.

Glory’s inclusion represents an exciting opportunity for the game to strengthen ties with the Hyundai A-League club at the same time as increasing local football’s profile.

Football Federation Australia recommends all A-League clubs enter teams in their respective NPL competitions to enhance the development structure for their elite youth players.

Of the 11 other clubs, only Subiaco currently plays outside the current All Flags State Premier League. In an exciting initiative, the Division Two club has committed to playing its home games at one of Perth’s newest sporting facilities, the WA Athletics Stadium.

Football West Chairman Liam Twigger congratulated all clubs for the high standard of bids and encouraged unsuccessful applicants to continue towards the plans outlined in their submissions.

“The Board learnt the two things most apparent from the submissions and presentations were the level of professionalism shown in developing high-quality applications and presentations, and the extent to which the club committees and members have embraced the NPL and much of what it aims to deliver,” Mr Twigger said.

The strength of club applications for NPL WA has prompted Football West to consider bringing forward to 2015 expansion plans initially scheduled for 2016.

NPL WA will replace the All Flags State Premier League as the state’s top-tier competition with a State League First and Second Division to continue to operate below. NPL clubs will be required to appoint a technical director and enter teams in each age group from under-12 to under 16, and under-18, under-20 and senior first team.

A club’s inclusion in the 2014 NPL competition is subject to the signing of a Participation Agreement.

The NPL is a Football Federation Australia-driven initiative, which has been implemented to assist in creating a more consistent national structure for the country’s various State League competitions. It is intended to raise the standard of the game nationwide through structural reform, increased coaching standards and better community engagement.

This year, NPL competitions were started in Queensland, New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, Tasmania and South Australia.

Initiates file downloadAttached is a document with further information or go to http://www.footballwest.com.au/fileadmin/user_upload/news_files/NPL_Statement.pdf

For more, please visit www.nplwa.com.au or contact Football West Chief Executive Peter Hugg on 9422 6906 or peter.hugg@footballwest.com.au