WA’s W League squad selected for 2011/12 season

Harnwell announces Perth Glory W-League squad


New Perth Glory Women’s coach Jamie Harnwell

New Perth Glory coach Jamie Harnwell has selected the squad which he hopes will surge into the Westfield W-League finals for the first time.

There are several new faces on board for the 2011/12 season, with the team missing Westfield Matildas duo Sam Kerr and Kate Gill through serious knee injuries. Another key player missing is Westfield Matildas vice-captain Collette McCallum, who has elected not to take part in the upcoming season due to personal reasons.

Brand-new signings to the team include locals Sarah Carroll (NTC 17’s) and Shawn Billam (Senior NTC), as well as Young Matildas pair Mackenzie Arnold and Erika Elze, with the latter coming from reigning champions Brisbane Roar.

“This is a different squad to what we have previously seen at Perth Glory,” said Harnwell.

“It will be difficult to cover the loss of three key Matildas players, but we are confident that we have a team that can compete in the W-League and hopefully finish in the finals for the first time.

“We have introduced some new young faces and I am looking forward to seeing how they develop over the course of the season.

“We have also been fortunate to add some experience with the English signing of Doncaster Rovers Belles captain Katie Holtham and I am excited to see what she will bring to the team.”

Leading the side into the new season will again be inaugural captain Tanya Oxtoby, and the team’s vice-captain will be Ella Mastrantonio, who returns to the Glory side after a successful season with Melbourne Victory last year.

The club is currently in negotiations with two more international players to add extra quality to the strong home-based squad.

Perth Glory’s first match will be away to Melbourne Victory on Saturday 22 October at the Veneto Club, Bulleen.

1 Arnold Mackenzie Goalkeeper
2 Billam Shawn Defender
3 Hawkins Carys Defender
4 Elze Erika Defender
5 May Shannon Midfielder
6 Jukic Katarina Forward
7 Lawrence Sadie Def/Mid
8 Oxtoby Tanya Defender
9 Holtham Katie Def/Mid
10 Gibbons Jaymee Midfield
11 Mastrantonio Ella Midfield
13 D’Ovidio Elisa Mid/Forward
14 Dunn Emily Defender
15 Filocamo Lara Def/Forward
17 Tabain Marianna Forward
19 Carroll Sarah Def/Mid

4 positions left in the roster- watch out for two local and 2 international players!